Month: August 2008

  • Temporary Leave of Absence

    I won’t be posting much for awhile. We have begun our busy days of home schooling starting up again full swing. This year we have a fourth grader, third grader and two in kindergarten! FUN!!! For curious minds we are doing Sonlight Core 3, US History emphasis, with our boys and Core K with our girls. Everyone has their separate math and so on, of course!

    We are also getting ready for our travel adventure for our adoption in September. We will be making an across country road trip in order to bring the whole family along. The last couple of days have been for preparing the house before we leave for a new baby to arrive home to. Lots to do for sure! Of course, there is always the abundance of paperwork and to do list relating to the adoption as well. We are plodding along well and hope to be on our way for our trip soon. Once we get to our destination and we wait for the baby to be born we plan on making great use of the experience for educational purposes by visiting lots of places we have never seen before. Everyone is beyond excited!!

    Pray with us for a safe trip, healthy baby and for all the legal work to go through well.

    Will update on our family when things settle down and we have someone special to announce!

  • Just a little rain…

    In honor of my brother-in-law teasing us that we are being “scared off by a little rain” I thought I would show you our flooded vacation. (the pics are awful due to it being at dusk and rainy, but you will get the idea)

    The road going into the family camping property. Just a little rain!

    Standing on the hilly part of the property where our camper usually goes. All of this is typically grass . See the porta potty? It was floating all, but one corner.

    Um, what are we going to do with this before it goes floating into the main part of the lake? It was leaning forward enough that the spring action door was held open.

    Hmm…. open it up and let’s see what’s inside. Just a little rain! No I don’t love the porta potty that much to pose like that. I was actually holding it still while it floated.

    See the little patch of grass to the right? That is typically uphill where we put our camper. The rest should not be under water!

    Here is all that is left of the family property. The porta potty people said we needed to get the potty to higher ground, but seeing that this was all that was left to the property with more rain coming in all week we…..

    …took a hold of it and floated it down the road for the porta potty company to come pick it up.  No camping vacation this year. At least the porta potty company was kind enough to not charge us this year for the rental of the potty.

    After we did the potty job (does this count Kimmy for getting closer as a family? lol) we carried the kids into the property so they could see it for themselves and understand why we were not camping this year. It wasn’t pitch black out like it shows here…that was just the flash.

    Caleb giggled the entire way in because of how high the water was. I wish I had his laughter on video!

    Here they are on higher ground looking over the water just beneath them. We said goodnight and went back home after our deed was done. Time to make other plans now for some family fun.

    If you are curious enough you can go back earlier in my blog and see pics of us camping on the family property for comparison.
  • Baby Thoughts and Soulfest

    I’m super duper busy with Soulfest, but let me tell not a moment goes by that I’m not thinking BABY! Thank you so much for all the congrats! I feel so blessed to have so many excited with me. I have to be honest that last night I got a bit worrisome. Not sure why, but there was just this gut feeling that something was not right. I called the agency late in the evening just to talk. I found out everything is fine adoption wise, but birthmom could use some prayer. So. Knowing you are all prayer warriors out there could you please lift this young lady up today to the Lord? I am sorry I cannot give you her name, but the Lord knows, right?

    Here are Soulfest pics so far…

    Soulfest Setting Up!
    Soulfest Day One
    Soulfest Day Two

    I hope to have days three and four up after tonight. If the weather holds up I’m hoping to get more on foot out of the booth to get actual pics of the event. Today is supposed to be the biggest attendance.

    In the meantime… I am looking for housing in the state we will be traveling to for the birth and adoption. I am also wondering what in the world am I going to need? I have never had a newborn before! Thankfully, we are not going overseas so no matter what I may need I will be able to find it easily.

    So far I’m thinking I need to travel with…

    Play N Pack (that has the bassinet aspect of it) Have one of those!
    Stroller w/infant car seat (still need to get this as I only have double strollers)
    bottles (any suggestions? I’m getting rid of my avent ones because of the BPA in the plastic)
    diaper bag with all the little infant essentials
    my all time favorite Hug-A-Bub wrap!

    What else would I need for about a two week out of state time with a newborn?